Dealing with Loss Through the Five Stages of Grief

When people lose those dear to them, they can seek help from a hospice care provider to help them deal with bereavement, and it’s a long and complex road.

Through hospice palliative care in Texas, you can manage all sorts of emotions you probably have a hard time processing. It might take you some time to sort what you feel, and that is all right.

People from all walks of life experience varied lengths of time as they go through their mourning. That is because grief is a process traveled with a roadmap. 

In the book of Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, she tackled the stages of grief and explained each essential step to moving forward and why we feel what we feel.

So, what are these stages?

  1. Denial
    When you are in shock, everything would feel overwhelming to the point that you might feel numb. As a result, you would refuse to acknowledge facts as a defense mechanism.
  2. Anger
    After denying what you feel, the pain of your loss translates into anger. However, the more you feel that anger, the more it dissipates.
  3. Bargaining
    Then, feelings like helplessness and vulnerability emerge. The “if only” statements start to come into your mind, and you will feel like you could have done better. 
  4. Depression
    The grief here would take deeper roots in you. However, understand that this type of depression is only a normal response to your loss.
  5. Acceptance
    This is the stage where we acknowledge our loss. It does not mean that you are fine or that your loss is okay, instead we learn to eventually accept it.

It may seem difficult but remember: As long as there is life, there is hope. As long as there is hope, there is life.

If you need someone who can help your loved one live life with ease through the difficult days, Devinity Hospice, a provider of palliative comfort in Humble, Texas, can lend you a hand.