Learn About Our Four Levels of Hospice and Palliative Care

Hospice and palliative comfort in Texas are great care options for an ill family member. Anyone with a serious illness such as dementia or heart failure can benefit from palliative care as it improves their quality of life at any stage of illness. Meanwhile, hospice is considered end-of-life care provided in any setting. As a provider of both types of care, we offer four levels of care that include:

  1. Routine Care
    This level of care is considered the basis of standardized hospice care. It includes home visits by our interdisciplinary team to manage a patient’s overall health and well-being. The frequency and duration of the visits vary depending on their needs.
  2. Continuous Care
    This level of care is focused on managing a patient’s symptoms, especially when they are unresponsive to medication or treatment. Hence, it may include 24-hour nursing care and medication adjustments to manage their symptoms and improve comfort.
  3. Respite Care
    This level of care is recommended for patients who live at home with their families. Respite care offers up to 5 days of care at a nursing facility to assist family caregivers who are experiencing stress, fatigue, or caregiver burnout.
  4. General Inpatient Care (GIP)
    GIP is usually provided when a patient experiences crisis and may be admitted to a facility with 24-hour nursing to manage their symptoms and stabilize their condition.

A patient can move from different levels of care depending on their needs. All levels include 24-hour availability, home medical equipment, and more to ensure your loved one’s needs and preferences are met.

Devinity Hospice is your trusted provider of palliative care and hospice comfort care in Humble, Texas. Browse our blog for relevant content or get in touch with us to learn more about our services.